What is Kundalini?

Kundalini is a Sanskrit a word that means coil. Every human has Kundalini, however, in most humans the Kundalini lies dormant in the perineum, forming a coil. Although most people are not aware that the Kundalini exists, Kundalini is well known by serious spiritual seekers. Most yoga traditions aim to awaken the Kundalini, because these yoga traditions believe that the Kundalini is the power that is required to attain the ultimate goal of spiritual achievement, the union with Divine or Yoga. 

Traditionally, it is believed that after being awakened, Kundalini will be able to remove the knots of the major chakras, cleanse, open and develop the chakras until they are fully developed into full blooming lotus forms. By the time the Kundalini finishes opening, cleansing and developing all of the chakras, the core of the Kundalini will reach the crown chakra, the chakra at the top of the head. At this time someone can attain Yoga or union with the Divine.

However, it is not so easy for someone to attain Yoga. First, it is very hard to awaken the Kundalini. Some people have spent decades of dedicated practices without being able to awaken their Kundalini. It is believed that only a few were really able to awaken their Kundalini. For those who were lucky enough to have their Kundalini awakened, the cleansing process of the Kundalini would still have taken decades. Kundalini requires years to cleanse, open and develop a chakra completely, and the process is done from the base chakra upwards in sequential order. So, as the Kundalini starts at the lowest chakra and spends a few years at this base chakra, it will take decades before the Kundalini cam start working on the crown chakra, the 7th chakra. In most cases, one will die before achieving the final goal of the process since the time required is too long. Even if the Kundalini reaches the crown chakra, although wonderful, is just the beginning of the real journey of the Kundalini.

What is Kundalini really for?

Many people get interested in Kundalini energy as it is believed to awaken psychic powers. However, the psychic powers from the Kundalini energy, are not what the Kundalini is really for, but a by product of the Kundalini awakening process. In Reiki Tummo there in no focus on attaining any power at all,  because in general terms, the ego is strengthened with the attainment of power, and the feeling of our connection to the Divine is lessened. When the Kundalini is awakened, it will start doing the cleansing process 24 hours a day, cleansing and developing the major chakras, including the most inner part. The Kundalini energy provides a bridge to help you to be united into the oneness and return to the Divine Source.



Different Stages of Kundalini Process

Traditionally, it is believed there are four different stages in the Kundalini process:

   1. Awakening stage (Arambha)

   2. Cleansing stage (Ghata)

   3. Absorption stage (Parichaya)

   4. Final stage (Nishpatti)


1. Awakening stage (Arambha): Technically speaking, the Kundalini is considered awakened when the shell of the Kundalini and the knot of the base chakra are broken. This is normally referred to as the Brahma knot as this knot is very close to the Kundalini center. The picture below shows the location of Kundalini in the perineum, its shell and the Brahma knot.


                                                     Kundalini Structure


2. Cleansing stage (Ghata): After the Kundalini energy opens the second big chakra knot at the heart chakra, the Vysnu knot, Kundalini energy can flow more easily toward different parts of the body to do a more thorough cleansing.

3. Absorption stage (Pacihaya): At this stage, the cleansing is done in different body layers.

4. Final stage (Nishpatti): When the Kundalini opens the third and last big chakra knot at the Ajna (third eye chakra), called the Rudra, the person is only one step away from getting the crown chakra opened. As the crown chakra opens, one will be able to achieve what is commonly called self realization or Yoga.

Real Kundalini Process

The real Kundalini process is a little bit different from the traditional concept as described above. The four stages mentioned above are simply the "beginning" part. At the time the core of the Kundalini reaches the crown chakra, you will not be able to attain your self-realization easily. As the core of the Kundalini reaches your crown chakra, the divine chakra above you will start opening. Thus, the bigger part of your True Self that resides within this divine chakra will be able to descend into your heart chakra where another part of your True Self has been since your True Self entered your body. After the two parts of your True Self are united within your heart, then your True Self within you grows stronger. Then, it will take you through the different steps needed to attain your soul consciousness, and afterwards, your True Self Consciousness. But even when you have reached your True Self consciousness, there will still be many different levels before you can attain Yoga. The process in which the core of the Kundalini reaches your crown chakra is simply the starting point of the unification process. Attainment of Yoga means that you, as the micro, unite with the oneness (macro) and your True Self returns to the Source.

When discussing the Kundalini, be aware that there are different terminologies used to refer to the various parts of the Kundalini. Kundalini can be classified into three parts: the core, the fire, and the energy. As shown with this illustration below, the Core of the Kundalini is the Kundalini itself. The core of the Kundalini is the last part that moves. It can only move after the sushumna is open quite wide and is clean. The cleansing is actually done by the fire of the Kundalini. The fire is released energy from the Kundalini and it cleanses by burning up negativities and blockages in the energy body. Burnt negativities and blockages are brought up and out from the body. If the crown chakra is already open, the energy will flow out through the crown chakra. In Reiki Tummo this energy flows out around 2 meters from the crown chakra continuously. From this discussion you have an idea of how much energy is flowing out continuously, and the level of the cleansing taking place. 


The Core, Fire and Energy of Kundalini


Is it Kundalini?

Many people are talking about and practicing the Kundalini. However, you have to be careful because not every movement of energy along your sushumna or the heat at the lower part of your body or energy in your crown chakra is Kundalini. If your Kundalini is really awakened and the whole sushumna is already opened, you should be able to feel the energy around to 2 meters above your head and you can feel that this energy sprays from the top of your head. If you pass your hand above someones crown chakra who has their kundalini awakened , you can feel the upward flowing current.